Add New Games - Not working anymore?

Can't figure out how to get a certain game to work? Stuck on the boss at level 3? Ask your fellow gamers for help!
User avatar
Mireille2015
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 722
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:50 pm
Location: USA TEXAS

Re: Add New Games - Not working anymore?

Post by Mireille2015 » Thu Sep 20, 2018 5:38 pm

Go to C:\mame\cfg2p\ and delete SNES.cfg.

Then rerun the FE. Select+Start should work. Its universal for exiting.
"There is no Replay! Only Zuul!"

User avatar
Alpharius
Member Level 3
Member Level 3
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 7:42 pm

Re: Add New Games - Not working anymore?

Post by Alpharius » Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:43 pm

I did that - That fix didn't....fix my SNES controller issues.

I still can't "SELECT + START" out of SNES games.

To make matters if not worse but more annoying - some games won't recognize me pressing SELECT or START at all.

Super Star Wars being one such game.

Outside of Arcade games, I think the SNES is the system I'd be playing the most.

I hope there's a way to figure this out.

Or, alternatively, is there a different SNES emulator I can try on the Replay machine, and does it also use MAME .185 ROMs to run?
Nil nos tremefacit.

User avatar
Mireille2015
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 722
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:50 pm
Location: USA TEXAS

Re: Add New Games - Not working anymore?

Post by Mireille2015 » Thu Sep 20, 2018 8:06 pm

Please check your PM, thanks!
"There is no Replay! Only Zuul!"

User avatar
Alpharius
Member Level 3
Member Level 3
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 7:42 pm

Re: Add New Games - Not working anymore?

Post by Alpharius » Tue Oct 09, 2018 5:17 pm

Alpharius wrote:
Thu Sep 20, 2018 2:17 am
Good news! Clearing the cache/history worked - well, at least after I did that, the 'Add New Games' feature went back to working as usual.
Bad news!

This problem has cropped up again - and clearing the cache of every browser on the Replay didn't help.

To summarize, when I try to add a new game, I do get the Google Chrome page to pop up with the link the Internet Archive .185 page, but now, instead of getting a little message of 'downloading files' in the lower right hand corner, I get taken directly to the Internet Archive webpage, the file does not download, and I can't figure out what's going on.

Is this a known issue?

Is this something on Dreamcade's end?
Nil nos tremefacit.

User avatar
WheatPasta
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 871
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 2:21 am
Wheat Pasta’s avatar
Offline

Re: Add New Games - Not working anymore?

Post by WheatPasta » Tue Oct 09, 2018 5:36 pm

Alpharius wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 5:17 pm
Is this something on Dreamcade's end?
Check Discord
If you are having a software problem be it front end, Windows, or want to try RetroArch and LauchBox but need help feel free to contact me. Post on the forum, PM here, or on Discord. I will be more then happy to do my best to get you sorted.

correa81
Member Level 3
Member Level 3
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:36 pm

Re: Add New Games - Not working anymore?

Post by correa81 » Wed Oct 10, 2018 10:47 pm

I still have this issue
It acts like it's downloading a game and the game never shows up

User avatar
Alpharius
Member Level 3
Member Level 3
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 7:42 pm

Re: Add New Games - Not working anymore?

Post by Alpharius » Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:58 am

It *used* to work for me, then it stopped working, then it started working again.

I still feel like this is some bug on the Replay that still needs to get squashed.
Nil nos tremefacit.

User avatar
Mireille2015
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 722
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:50 pm
Location: USA TEXAS

Re: Add New Games - Not working anymore?

Post by Mireille2015 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:04 am

Squashed....

Don't feel bad. My Retro Reload wont even pop up. Of course me jacking it doesnt help either. Let me revert back to an older release. Could be a bug in one of the updates.
"There is no Replay! Only Zuul!"

User avatar
Alpharius
Member Level 3
Member Level 3
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 7:42 pm

Re: Add New Games - Not working anymore?

Post by Alpharius » Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:18 am

That's one of my 'hopes' here, and that a future update gets everything working again...
-----------------------------
Mireille205 to the rescue - again!

I was clicking the second link - and you need to click the first link, on top!

All is working again - or more accurately, is still working, but now I am clicking the 'right' link!

Mireille205 - thank you!
Last edited by WheatPasta on Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Merged Double Post
Nil nos tremefacit.

sfbayog
Member
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 9:51 pm

Re: Add New Games - Not working anymore?

Post by sfbayog » Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:47 pm

Does this feature "retro reload" rely on internet explorer to be installed on your system? It stopped working for me, I was trying to make room on my C: drive by disabling / uninstalling uneeded software?

It would be great to have some documentation on what system components the replay and f/e require.

What do I need to "re-enable" this feature? What version of explorer is required?

Thanks.

Problem:
Looks like retro reload is working, I can find, select the game I want to download. The link appears, I click on it, it appears to be downloaded, but it does not appear in the platform submenu even after a reboot. The file appears to indicate its downloaded, but it hasn't. The software shows that the external drive (g:/) is the current download folder. I have downloaded many, many games already in most platforms and this has just stopped working from what appears to be the last update I installed about 3 / 4 weeks ago.

Any help / guidance appreciated. Thanks,

Post Reply