Sega Based Systems

If you have any trouble getting emulators to run properly then check here for help.
User avatar
Mireille2015
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 865
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:50 pm
Location: USA TEXAS
Contact:

Re: Sega Based Systems

Post by Mireille2015 » Wed Apr 01, 2020 12:51 am

Bootleghooch wrote:
Tue Mar 31, 2020 11:27 pm
I just started reading that thread the other day. I’ll be looking into it.

I’ll have to beat Popful Mail first though. I don’t want to start over.
Don't hesitate to ask questions, when in doubt!
Be sure to visit WheatPasta and me on Discord. Where we can respond quicker and get you resolved on your issue quickly!

Bootleghooch
Member Level 3
Member Level 3
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Sega Based Systems

Post by Bootleghooch » Tue Apr 07, 2020 1:35 am

I switched my Sega Genesis over to Retroarch following your directions. I have one problem (that seems related to the problem I had with Fusion).

Retroarch seems to unzip the rom and put it in the rom folder. It’s supposed to delete it upon exiting, but it doesn’t. This results in two copies, and therefore two listings for the game in the Dream Arcade menu. I think it’s a problem with Start-Select ending task instead of exiting properly.

I’m concerned it may also interfere with auto save on exit (similar to Save and Exit on Mame).

Is there a way to map Start-Select to Esc/Esc to let it properly exit? This may be more of a question for the DA devs, as I can’t find where the Start-Select function is coded.

User avatar
Mireille2015
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 865
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:50 pm
Location: USA TEXAS
Contact:

Re: Sega Based Systems

Post by Mireille2015 » Tue Apr 07, 2020 10:19 am

For some reason, Retroarch acts this way only with this front end. Its best to have unzip files, to avoid duplicate roms. Now, if you wish to have save state, and load from Retroarch, you will need to bind those commands to your controller. The MAME that is currently installed is a modified dev to suit their purposes.

Now, this will depend on what type of controller you have and use. I'm currently using the 8 Bitdo SNES 30 PRO+ Black Edition.

Go to retroarch emulator and open it up. The version I'm on is 1.8.5. Go to settings, scroll and find Input and enter/click it. Scroll to find "Hotkey Binds" and enter/click it. Scroll to find "Load State" and "Save State" You can custom bind your own "key(s)" to suit this. You will also find "Quit Retroarch" if you wish to set up that as well. Once your done, you can hit escape to exit the emulator.

Always, make sure that the original config file for Sega genesis is not in C:\menu\users\_da\systems. Either move it out or delete it. And delete ALL folders in C:\menu\knownGames. Dont worry, its just basically a "cache"

With Retroarch, you can add overlays, custom filters, shaders as well to get that retro look.

The guys at Dreamcade are working on something new. But of course with this COVID-19, puts a damper on things.
Please be safe and take care!!!
Be sure to visit WheatPasta and me on Discord. Where we can respond quicker and get you resolved on your issue quickly!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests