Sega Based Systems

If you have any trouble getting emulators to run properly then check here for help.
User avatar
Mireille2015
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 838
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:50 pm
Location: USA TEXAS
Contact:

Re: Sega Based Systems

Post by Mireille2015 » Sun Jul 29, 2018 2:23 pm

Soundman wrote:
Sun Jul 29, 2018 5:33 am
I’d be willing to give it a shot :)

Do you think there’s a way to tell the MAME genesis to be NTSC? 🤔
I found the problem!!! Streets of Rage 2 does work just fine. Its your copy and my copy is not set at mame 185. Best way is to download a new copy of Streets of Rage 2 from Retro Reload. Once downloading do this.

1, go to where your roms are set to Download.
2, Open megadriv folder
3, you should find a rom named sor2u
4, you need to rename this rom like this
Streets of Rage 2 (USA)

And the rom will be picked up by Replay to play on Genesis,

Hope this helps. Thankfully we dont need to change emulators!!
Be sure to visit WheatPasta and me on Discord. Where we can respond quicker and get you resolved on your issue quickly!

Soundman
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:13 pm

Re: Sega Based Systems

Post by Soundman » Sun Jul 29, 2018 8:53 pm

Mireille2015 wrote:
Sun Jul 29, 2018 2:23 pm
Soundman wrote:
Sun Jul 29, 2018 5:33 am
I’d be willing to give it a shot :)

Do you think there’s a way to tell the MAME genesis to be NTSC? 🤔
I found the problem!!! Streets of Rage 2 does work just fine. Its your copy and my copy is not set at mame 185. Best way is to download a new copy of Streets of Rage 2 from Retro Reload. Once downloading do this.

1, go to where your roms are set to Download.
2, Open megadriv folder
3, you should find a rom named sor2u
4, you need to rename this rom like this
Streets of Rage 2 (USA)

And the rom will be picked up by Replay to play on Genesis,

Hope this helps. Thankfully we dont need to change emulators!!
INTERESTING!!
I tried renaming streets of rage 2 as you suggested and IT NOW PLAYS! BUT!..

When I press start+select to bring up the MAME menu, machine info is showing Europe/PAL

I tried renaming Sonic the hedgehog (USA)
And Aladdin (USA)

Aladdin is still region locked and Sonic still plays slow in PAL mode.

Machine info says it’s using megadriv.cpp
As the driver.... I’m wondering if we’re missing genesis.cpp or if there is a driver per region 🤔

Soundman
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:13 pm

Re: Sega Based Systems

Post by Soundman » Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:05 pm

All of the roms that I’m trying are downloaded from retro reload from within the “- add game” menu.

User avatar
Mireille2015
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 838
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:50 pm
Location: USA TEXAS
Contact:

Re: Sega Based Systems

Post by Mireille2015 » Sun Jul 29, 2018 10:53 pm

Soundman wrote:
Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:05 pm
All of the roms that I’m trying are downloaded from retro reload from within the “- add game” menu.
I did find the genesis bios. I placed in mame and mame is telling its a working rom. (Parent)

Of course I have to name it the correct file. Lol. I have do tell mame to find the rom in ini
Be sure to visit WheatPasta and me on Discord. Where we can respond quicker and get you resolved on your issue quickly!

Soundman
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:13 pm

Re: Sega Based Systems

Post by Soundman » Tue Jul 31, 2018 5:34 pm

I like the idea or running Kega fusion... because it seems that the MAME/ Genesis emulator also doesn't remember my controller button settings.

User avatar
Mireille2015
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 838
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:50 pm
Location: USA TEXAS
Contact:

Re: Sega Based Systems

Post by Mireille2015 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 5:37 pm

Soundman wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 5:34 pm
I like the idea or running Kega fusion... because it seems that the MAME/ Genesis emulator also doesn't remember my controller button settings.
Its really bothering me that I can't figure out how to switch that megadrive driver to genesis.
Be sure to visit WheatPasta and me on Discord. Where we can respond quicker and get you resolved on your issue quickly!

User avatar
Mireille2015
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 838
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:50 pm
Location: USA TEXAS
Contact:

Re: Sega Based Systems

Post by Mireille2015 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 5:41 pm

Let me see, and mess with Genesis to use Fusion. It was funny to play Streets Of Rage 2 with sped up music.
Be sure to visit WheatPasta and me on Discord. Where we can respond quicker and get you resolved on your issue quickly!

User avatar
Mireille2015
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 838
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:50 pm
Location: USA TEXAS
Contact:

Re: Sega Based Systems

Post by Mireille2015 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 2:53 pm

I swapped the Sega Genesis to now Megadrive. And added Sega Genesis profile and let it run on Kega Fusion.
Be sure to visit WheatPasta and me on Discord. Where we can respond quicker and get you resolved on your issue quickly!

Soundman
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:13 pm

Re: Sega Based Systems

Post by Soundman » Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:02 pm

Oh nice 👌 how did you do it?

Does it work?

User avatar
Mireille2015
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 838
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:50 pm
Location: USA TEXAS
Contact:

Re: Sega Based Systems

Post by Mireille2015 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:48 pm

Soundman wrote:
Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:02 pm
Oh nice 👌 how did you do it?

Does it work?
Are you in Discord?

Works like a charm
Be sure to visit WheatPasta and me on Discord. Where we can respond quicker and get you resolved on your issue quickly!

Post Reply